Tag Archives: NaBloPoMo

Awards Talk: Gotham Awards 2016 Winners

Best Feature


Best Documentary

O.J.: Made in America

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Trey Edward Shults – Krisha

Best Screenplay


Best Actor

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Best Actress

Isabelle Huppert – Elle

Breakthrough Actor

Anya Taylor-Joy – The Witch

Special Gotham Jury Award for Ensemble Performance

Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, and Ashton Sanders – Moonlight

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

Her Story

Weekend Round Up #98

This weekend’s movies:

And of course…

Andrei Rublev, Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel, The Night of the Shooting Stars, The Nightmare Before Christmas, The Thing (1982), The Thing (2011), Gilmore Girls: A Year In The Life

Awards Talk: European Film Awards 2016


Best European Film
I, Daniel Blake
Toni Erdmann

Best European Director
Paul Verhoeven – Elle
Cristian Mungiu – Graduation
Ken Loach – I, Daniel Blake
Pedro Almodóvar – Julieta
Maren Ade – Toni Erdmann

Best European Actor
Rolf Lassgård – A Man Called Ove
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Dave Johns – I, Daniel Blake
Burghart Klaußner – The People vs. Fritz Bauer
Peter Simonischek – Toni Erdmann
Javier Cámara – Truman

Best European Actress
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Emma Suárez & Adriana Ugarte – Julieta
Valeria Bruni Tedeschi – Like Crazy
Trine Dyrholm – The Commune
Sandra Hüller – Toni Erdmann

Best European Screenwriter
Cristian Mungiu – Graduation
Paul Laverty – I, Daniel Blake
Emma Donoghue – Room
Maren Ade – Toni Erdmann
Tomasz Wasilewski – United States of Love

Best European Documentary
The Land Of The Enlightened
21 X New York
Mr. Gaga
S is for Stanley – 30 Years At The Wheel For Stanley Kubrick
A Family Affair
Fire At Sea

Best European Animated Feature
My Life as a Courgette
Psiconautas, the forgotten children
The Red Turtle

Best European Comedy
A Man Called Ove
Look Who’s Back
La Vache

Fipresci Prize – Best European Discovery
Sand Storm
The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki

European University Film Award
Fire at Sea
I, Daniel Blake
The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki
Toni Erdmann

Best European Short
The Wall
The Goodbye
90 Degrees North
We All Love The Sea Shore
In The Distance
A Man Returned
Small Talk
I’m Not From Here
The Fullness Of Time (Romance)
9 Days – From My Window In Aleppo

Awards Talk: 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Nominations list:

Best Feature

American Honey
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Andrea Arnold – American Honey
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Pablo Larrain – Jackie
Kelly Reichardt – Certain Women
Jeff Nichols – Loving

Best Screenplay

Manchester by the Sea
20th Century Women
Little Men
Hell or High Water

Best First Feature

The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man
The Witch

Best First Screenplay

The Witch
Other People
Jean of the Joneses

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood – Free in Deed
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons – Other People
Tim Roth – Chronic

Best Female Lead

Annette Bening – 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Sasha Lane – American Honey
Ruth Negga – Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes – A Bigger Splash
Ben Foster – Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Shia LaBeouf – American Honey
Craig Robinson – Morris From America

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley – Free in Deed
Paulina Garcia – Little Men
Lily Gladstone – Certain Women
Riley Keough – American Honey
Molly Shannon – Other People

Best Documentary

I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America
Under the Sun

Best International Film

My Golden Days
Toni Erdmann
Under the Shadow

Best Cinematography

Free in Deed
Eyes of My Mother
American Honey

Best Editing

Swiss Army Man
Manchester by the Sea
Hell or High Water

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

Free in Deed
Hunter Gatherer
Spa Night

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)


Piaget Producers Award

Lisa Kjerulff
Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher
Craig Shilowich

Someone to Watch Award

Andrew Ahn – Spa Night
Claire Carre – Embers
Anna Rose Holmer – The Fits
Ingrid Jungermann – Women Who Kill

Truer Than Fiction Award

Kristi Jacobson – Solitary
Sara Jordenö – Kiki
Nanfu Wang – Hooligan Sparrow

Awards Talk: Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards


Best Documentary (Theatrical Feature)
O.J.: Made in America
Best Director (Theatrical Feature)
Ezra Edelman – O.J.: Made in America
Best Documentary (TV/Streaming)
Best Director (TV/Streaming)
Ava DuVernay – 13th
Best First Documentary (Theatrical Feature)
Josh Kriegman & Elyse Steinberg – Weiner
Best First Documentary (TV/Streaming)
Jacob Bernstein & Nick Hooker – Everything Is Copy – Nora Ephron: Scripted and Unscripted
Deborah Esquenazi – Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four
Best Political Documentary
Best Sports Documentary
O.J.: Made in America
Best Music Documentary
The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years
Best Song in a Documentary
I’m Still Here – Miss Sharon Jones
Best Limited Documentary Series
O.J.: Made in America
Best Ongoing Documentary Series
30 for 30
Most Innovative Documentary
The Tower