British Independent Film Awards 2014

The winners:

Best British independent film


Best director

Yann Demange – ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best debut director)

Iain Forsyth, Jane Pollard – 20,000 Days on Earth

Best screenplay

Jon Ronson, Peter Straughan – Frank

Best actress

Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle

Best actor

Brendan Gleeson – Calvary

Best supporting actress

Imelda Staunton – Pride

Best supporting actor

Andrew Scott – Pride

Most promising newcomer

Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best achievement in production

The Goob

Best technical achievement

Stephen Rennicks – music – Frank

Best documentary

Next Goal Wins

Best British short

The Kármán Line

Best international independent film


The Raindance Award


The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film)

Emma Thompson

The Variety Award

Benedict Cumberbatch

The Special Jury Prize

John Boorman


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s